WFA Elections

Image: Puma in tree

Montana puma
B. Weisner

Image: Click here to get Adobe Reader!
Adobe Reader (free)
for viewing PDF icon articles


The WFA was established as a non-profit in 2007 with a self-appointed (interim) board of directors (or Council). However, the Council created the WFA as an organization with a voting membership (see the WFA Bylaws). Consequently, the WFA Council created an Election Committee and organized elections. We filled 5 Councilor positions during our first election in 2009, another 3 Councilor positions in 2010, and we filled the remaining interim positions this year (2012). Elected terms are 3 years, and Council members cannot serve more than 2 consecutive terms.

All WFA members who have paid yearly dues or are issued sponsored memberships are eligible to vote.

All members shall be entitled to hold office and may be eligible to officially represent the WFA when appointed to do so by the Council or the President in lieu of the Council.

The Bylaws state that the Board of Directors (or Council) governs the WFA and is composed of five officers: President, Vice President (North America), Vice President (other than North America), Secretary, and Treasurer; and six Council members, five elected by the membership of the Wild Felid Association. The sixth is typically the past President.

Interested in running for office
(or helping with future WFA elections)?

Candidates for Council positions are chosen by the Election Committee. Any WFA member can also nominate a candidate, though the nominator must verify that nominees are members and have agreed to run for office and serve if elected. WFA members who are interested in being part of Election Committee or running for office, or helping in some capacity with future elections should Contact Us for more information.

Election 2016 - Our 2016 election was held this past summer. Positions up for election included Treasurer and 3 General Council positions. There were 2 candidates for Treasurer: Cheyenne Stewart and Jennifer Timmer, and 4 candidates for General Council: Brian Kertson, Mauro Lucherini, Toni Ruth and Stan Rullman. For the first time, voting was electronic and we also had our highest participation (~45% of eligible voters). Our next election is scheduled for 2018. If you have questions, Contact Us.

More information on the duties of each office are given in Article III of the WFA Bylaws. For more general descriptions of Councilor duties and responsibilities go here >

Election 2016 Results

The WFA membership elected 4 new members to the Council for the 2017-2019 term, including one Officer and 3 General Councilors. ¬†Cheyenne Stewart was elected as Treasurer, and Brian Kertson, Mauro Lucherini, and Toni Ruth were elected as Councilors. You can read brief bios on each of these members here. Four Councilors will be stepping down from Council. Marcella Kelly served as Councilor (2011-13) and as Treasurer (2014-16). Chris Papouchis served 2 terms as elected Councilor, after previously serving as Interim Councilor and our first Newsletter Editor. Chris is also a Founding Member of WFA and I expect him to continue to play an integral role in WFA’s development. ¬†Stan Rullman served as Councilor (2014-16) and will continue to play an active role in the Scholarship Committee. Rodrigo Nunez served as Councilor (2014-16). Congratulations to the newly elected Councilors, and a big thank you to our outgoing Councilors as well as the 2016 candidates.

Election 2015 Results

The WFA membership elected 4 Officers and 2 Councilors. Members stepping off Council include Suzie Prange and Aimee Rockhill. Two Council members were elected to new positions on Council: Anthony Giordano to President from Vice President, Latin America (2013-2015); and Sandra Ortiz to Vice President, Latin America from General Councilor (2014-2015). New Officers who are also new to Council include Mark Lotz as Vice President North America and Ken Logan as Secretary. The two new Councilors are Rogelio Carrera and Mark Elbroch. Linda Sweanor, now Past President, will serve as the 11th Council member. Newly elected councilors will serve 3-year terms, 2016-2018. Congratulations to the new Councilors and a big THANK YOU to our outgoing Councilors. You can read bios on all of our Council Members here>

Election 2013 Results

The WFA membership elected 1 officer (Treasurer) and 4 Councilors. Members stepping off Council include: Melanie Culver, Ivonne Cassaigne, and David Stoner. Two members were re-elected: Marcella Kelly as an officer, and Chris Papouchis for a 2nd term as Councilor. Other newly elected Councilors include Rodrigo Nunez, Sandra Ortiz, and Stan Rullman.

Election 2012 Results

The WFA membership elected 4 officers (President, Vice President North America, Vice President Latin America, Secretary) and 1 Councilor in this election.Voter turn-out was low. Please show your support of Council by voting in the next election! Members stepping down from Council include: Jim Williams, Sharon Negri, Chris Belden, and Mike Tewes. All were invaluable to the success of WFA and will continue to be involved in WFA committees. Elected Council include:
Linda Sweanor, Laurel Serieys, Anthony Giordano, Suzie Prange, and Aimee Rockhill

WFA 2010 Election Results

The January 2010 issue of the Wild Felid Monitor contained a mail-in ballot to elect 3 members of the WFA Council. No officer positions were up for election. These Council members will serve during the 2010-2013 term.

About 25% of the membership returned ballots. Results were close, but the membership elected to the WFA Council the following individuals:

Ivonne Cassaigne, Marcella Kelly, and Chris Papouchis

WFA 2009 Election Results

The Winter 2008–2009 issue of the Wild Felid Monitor contained a mail-in ballot to elect 5 members of the WFA Council. The available positions included 4 general Council member seats and the Vice President. Interim WFA Council members who stepped off the Council include John Beecham, Rich DeSimone, Gary Koehler, and Hugh Robinson. These elected Councilors will serve during the 2009-2012 term (except Melanie Culver and David Stoner, who will serve until the election in 2013).

General Council members elected in 2009 included:
Chris Belden, Melanie Culver, David Stoner, and Mike Tewes,

Elected Vice President
Jim Williams